Aug 03

Welcome, 2017-2018 class of Afterschool & Expanded Learning Policy Fellows!

Torrance Robinson from FLUOR speaks to the 2016-2017 Fellows about corporate engagement

Sixteen leaders in the field of afterschool and expanded learning nationwide have been selected as White-Riley-Peterson (WRP) Policy Fellows as part of a partnership between the Riley Institute at Furman University and the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation.

Through deep discussion of case studies led by policy change-makers, the fellowship equips graduates with a real-world understanding of sound policy-making for afterschool and expanded learning. In the ten-month program, which begins in October, fellows will study afterschool/expanded learning policy and develop and implement state-level policy projects in partnership with their statewide afterschool networks and the national Afterschool Alliance.

“Attending the White-Riley-Peterson Policy Fellowship was as not only rewarding academically but also for creating network partners across the country,” said Darren Grimshaw of the Burlington Police Department, a recent fellow. “The manner in which policy development was presented allowed for the collaboration of fellows and the input of subject matter experts in the field of afterschool programming. This policy fellowship experience has also given me the tools necessary to continue building much needed partnerships between law enforcement and out-of-school programs. This was an amazing hands-on experience.”

The WRP Policy Fellowship is named for William S. White, chairman and CEO of the C.S. Mott Foundation; Richard W. Riley, former South Carolina governor and U.S. Secretary of Education under President Clinton; and Dr. Terry Peterson, national board chair with the Afterschool Alliance, director of the Afterschool and Community Learning Network, and senior fellow at the Riley Institute.

The 2017-2018 WRP Policy Fellows are:

  • Yolandè​ Anderson, Director of the Office of Family and Community Engagement, South Carolina Department of Education
  • Mercadi Crawford, Deputy Director, Texas Partnership for Out of School Time
  • Mallory Deprey, School Age Program Coordinator, YWCA of New Britain
  • Andrew Ganucheau, Network Lead, Louisiana Center for Afterschool Learning
  • Angelique Jessup, Program Director, Baltimore Campaign for Grade Level Reading, Fund for Educational Excellence
  • Steve Mielenhausen, Principal, Davenport Community Schools
  • Becky Mueller, Network Lead, North Dakota Afterschool Network
  • Jenna Pak, Program Specialist, A+ Program, Community Engagement Office, Hawaii State Department of Education
  • Amy Pichette, Director of Afterschool and Summer Programming, LearningWorks
  • Michelle Radford, School Age Specialist, Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning
  • Aleah Rosario, Director of Capacity Building Programs, California School Age Consortium
  • May Sagbakken, Executive Director, New Mexico Out-of-School Time Network
  • Eric Shaw, Development and Communication Specialist, Massachusetts Afterschool Partnership
  • Felicia Simpson, Contract and Grants Administrator, University of Alabama
  • Brent Wake, Executive Director, Indiana State Alliance of YMCAs
  • Renea Wood, Program Development Director, YMCA of Klamath Falls

Interested in learning more? Head over to the White-Riley-Peterson Policy Fellowship website, or contact Cathy Stevens at the Riley Institute by calling 864-294-3265 or emailing